Pharmacology and Nutritional Sciences latest events...

Pharmacology and Nutritional Sciences Holiday Luncheon (December 2017)

Great turn out and great food!

Congratulations to our graduate student Heather Norman for winning the top award in our Department of Pharmacology and Nutritional Sciences Chili Cook-Off. Karen Dodridge (DA) received 2nd place and Dr. Kuey-Chu Chen 3rd place.

We would also like to thank our 7 expert judges: Dr. Shuxia Wang, Dr. Florin Despa, Dr. Christopher Gant Dr. Andy (Hui) Li, Ashley Megan (MS Student), Maja Redzic (NS Ph.D. candidate) andHilaree Frazier (PHA Ph.D. candidate), that participated in the difficult task of selecting the winners.

For those of you already looking forward  to preparing Chili this fall, our 1st place award winner Heather Norman, has kindly agreed to share her recipe. 

Award winning Chili recipe:

1lb ground beef
1 small onion
1 green pepper
olive oil
McCormicks medium chili seasoning packet
Cayenne pepper
Chili powder
1 can dark red kidney beans, undrained
1 can pinto beans, undrained
1 can diced and peeled tomatoes, undrained
1 can tomato sauce

Dice onion and green pepper. Saute in a couple tablespoons of olive oil for a few minutes, then add ground beef and brown. You may need to drain some of the grease, but I usually leave a little bit to give some flavor. Once fully cooked, add packet of chili seasoning and the beans, tomatoes, and tomato sauce. Don't drain any of the cans! Mix well and allow to simmer for ~15-20 minutes. Add chili powder and cayenne pepper to taste. 



Nate Helsley and Dr. Webb
The Student of the year 2016 was elected last night and the winner was Robert Nate Helsley, who just received his Ph.D. a month ago. Nate received his award from Dr. Nancy Webb, Director of the Nutritional Sciences Program.

Faculty of the Year 2016 was also elected and the Award went to Dr. Olivier Thibault. David Schnell, current student and President of the NSPS Association, handed the award.


The event was followed by an Ice Cream Social where the Department gathered and enjoyed delicious Ice Cream from Baskin Robins

(November 20 & 21, 2015)

The Fifth Annual Markesbery Symposium on Aging and Dementia. This two-day program offered sessions for both the scientific and community audience. Clinicians and researchers from the University of Kentucky and other institutions came together to share current findings, trends and latest updates on dementia and aging disorders, particularly as related to Alzheimer’s disease.

Thirty-six posters were on display. Among them, 13 posters from 6 DPNS labs:

Dr. Eric Blalock:

Presenter: Kendra Staggs (Student) AWARD WINNER!
- Influence of chronic restraint (psychological stress) on young and aged rats



Dr. Florin Despa:

Presenter: Han Ly (Student) - Amylin Proteotoxicity links type-2 Diabetes to neuroinflammation
Presenter: Nirmal Verma (Fellow) - Amylin vasculopathy: a novel mechanism of cerebrovascular injury and neurologic deficits in diabetes
Presenter: Savita Sharma (Fellow)- Diabetes and the brain: a comparative test of brain amylin levels in diabetic patients with late-onset AD vs. non-diabetics with early-onset diabetes

Dr. Anika Hartz:

Presenter: Anika Hartz (Faculty) - Preventing p-glycoprotein degradation lower amyloid-beta brain levels in an Alzheimer’s disease mouse model
Presenter: Ralf Rempe (Fellow) - Monomeric AB40 and AB42 drive neurovascular leakage in Alzheimer’s disease
Presenter: Tal Frolinger (Fellow) - Preventing p-glycoprotein degradation in an Alzheimer’s disease mouse model decreases AB accumulation
Presenter: Yu Zhong (Staff) - Human ATP-binding cassette transporters in Alzheimer’s disease

Dr. Liz Head:

Presenter: Harry Levine III (Faculty) - Photoaffinity probes of the Pittsburgh compound B (PIB) site on AB(1-40) fibrils

Dr. Philip Landfield:

Presenter: Chris Gant (Staff) AWARD WINNER!
- Reversal of aging-related neuronal Ca2+ dysregulation and cognitive impairment by adeno-associated viral delivery of FKBP1b (12.6) to hippocampus.



Dr. Olivier Thibault:

Presenter: Shaniya Maimaiti (Student): - Mechanisms of Insulin action on hippocampal neurons
Presenter:Hilaree Frazier (Student) - Characterization of a truncated, constitutively active human insulin receptor signaling
Presenter: Katie Anderson (Staff) - Acute intranasal insulin in young and aged F344 rats: signaling and MRI brain changes